Sula


8 the greatness of the story was not told by words

“…but it had no bottom and it had no top, just circles and circles of sorrow…”

I tranced the 170 pages as if I was in a dream. Beyond the black ink and yellow pages, I constantly felt an enigmatic ray of energy. It grasped me, thrust me and suffocated me. Under that compelling breathing space, I was overwhelmed by entangling, complex and contradicting feelings and experiences. It is not like any other book I have read before. This book I didn’t read. I felt it.

Ms. Morrison beamed the story straightway to my nerves; she tacitly, playfully and violently touched all my sensations. I felt the story: I heard the conversation between Nel and Sula, witnessed the bizarre burning of Hannah and run down the path in Bottom with the deweys. My soul lingered among the paths, voices and thoughts for a long time.

A spellbinding story about a miserable black community before the second world war when colored people struggled at the bottom of the society. In the hilly city Medallion, people lived at the bottom – the ironic name of Medallion. Everyone silently licked its wound. Insanity was rather an easy disguise to hide the hollowness and sorrows under the shell. While two girls grew up and explored the new world together, people died, every year. Every death subtly changed the ambience in Medallion until the balance was turned upside down by the return of Sula and the prophetic robin plague.

Sula lived in her world, disguised her loneliness with her self-centeredness. She happily stayed at the rim of the community and she despised the city folks as strongly as they despised her. She did not care more when she slept with her best friend’s husband than when she dropped Little Chicken in the river. For her all the externalities were mere supplement to her existence until she started longing for the warmth of a particular man’s chest.

A miserable story happened naturally at a miserable time. Ms. Morrison masterfully pulled the strings of my sensations like a puppeteer did to a doll. It was a full, satisfying experience. A fantastic story.

 

 

Leave a Reply

