Content


Listening to the melodies of Joe Hisaishi (久石譲), indulged in the mesmerizing taps and vibrations, I was dragged back to the magical realm of Hayao Miyazaki. Uncontrollably, I tumbled between the many immortal scenes of Mr. Hayao Miyazaki (宮崎駿): Porco fought his epic battle on the pirates packed island in Porco Rosso (紅の豚); the thrilling ride to Laputa in Castle in the Sky; Laoshika stood before the furious hordes of charging monsters in The Valley of Wind

Soul soothing and spirit elevating…

While wiping the inch thick dust off my last neglected shelf, I ran into this old CD from Studio Gibili. This CD, which was gifted to me from my Japanese teacher, is a collection of theme songs from its animations. I must have listened to it hundreds of times. It is one of those things I would treasure for a life time. I love listening to it, humming it, munching on it and I never get enough of it! It always gives me a rare resonation from my heart: fullness, passion and inspiration.

Then I suddenly realized how bad I was craving for it. However convenient the Blackberry or however fast the internet, they are not what I really want. Modernity has done a great job to make a complicated world look simple, but people are still baffled; Optical fibers deliver information to us quicker and easier, but people are still overloaded; iPhone, Blackberry, iPad made the world connect on the go, but people are feeling lonely. WEB, Net, what prophetical names they are!  It connects, but frailly; It weaves, but not without gaps. The abundant material and sparse time “fastfoodenised” everything. From food to communication, to fashion, to love, although the fastfoodenised world is fully packed with stimulated fun, it lacks something quintessential. Something make us not agitated, not anxious, not depressed, not lonely, not obese but content.

I believe there are things which make us content, happy, and even some what divine. They come in different forms: religion, meditation, music, love. Through these ways we attempt to reach our “inner peace”, the ultimate form of self awareness – to unite with the universe, oneself, or God, whichever you prefer to call it. It is a marvelous feeling. I feel I am part of something really big, really calm and really meaningful.

Ever elating.

Leave a Reply

